#1: Why do you care about Marcos Day anyway?

Now, now, we have all heard the news about the old deposed dictator of this country and about his fancy new birthday holiday anyway. For those of you who are late to the party, apparently the Congress of the Republic of the Philippines has decided, in their unending brilliance, to make September 11 as Marcos Day in his home province, Ilocos Norte, in an effort to remind them of him being an "inspiration for young leaders to exemplify his leadership and governance", as it is written in the bill. Yes, they want exemplify his $10-billion ill-gotten wealth, his +3,000 kill count, and, especially, exemplify the insanity and historical revisionism still in the minds of his old supporters and the new impressionable young minds who watched and believed in PinoyMonkeyPride videos too much, and still rabidly crowding the comment sections of anti-Duterte Facebook pages, posting memes which show false factoids that they can't even back with any citations. Very exemplifiable.

But we have a point to make, and we want to get to it straight, anyway. Let's start with a question: Why do you even care anyway? Why do you care to be outraged, or even just be bothered by such developments about Marcos anyway? We know there's an outrage, but why should you be outraged? Or rather, let's rephrase the question: Why should you STILL be outraged? You're not gonna do anything concrete, are you? Sure, you're going to post about it on Facebook or maybe on Twitter, with matching hashtag "#MarcosIsNotAHero" or something like that. You think that changes anything? Even if it did, you think those changes are going to be drastic in the long run? We know it. If its not by social media, you think things are going to change by just holing yourself up in your houses and praying to whoever deity you believe in, all because you took the "power of prayer" too darn literally, or you're simply covering up your lack of spine and guts with that good old shallow display of faith. (We'll talk about more of this later.) Well, we all know that there was outrage when fraud to the tune of 15 billion Philippine pesos was uncovered in Philhealth. There also was outrage when Marcos was surprisingly buried on Heroes' Cemetery one day. Or when Duterte called God stupid. Or when Duterte practically sold our territories to China, in spite of his campaign promises. If we could list down all the things that this adminstration did that Filipinos were outraged at, this article would never end because we will have to go way back since the start of Duterte's regime. But the truth is, Filipinos simply express outrage. They will express outrage everytime, but you would do no effective action against this adminstration.

So, if all you can do is be outraged without really doing something about it, why should you still care that they gave Marcos his own holiday, despite such going against all just and sane sense and logic? Why do you still care anyway?

Comments